This Land

Year Released: 


Bill Frisell - guitar
Don Byron - clarinet and bass clarinet
Billy Drewes - alto saxophone
Curtis Fowlkes - trombone
Kermit Driscoll - electric and acoustic basses
Joey Baron - drums

produced by Lee Townsend

recording and mixing engineer: Joe Ferla
mastering engineer: Greg Calbi

Elektra Nonesuch

Out of print, for the MP3 version go to


Song List:

  1. Is It Sweet
  2. Strange Meeting
  3. Jimmy Carter (Part 1)
  4. Jimmy Carter (Part 2)
  5. This Land
  6. Dog Eat Dog
  7. Amarillo Barbados
  8. Monica Jane
  9. Resistor
  10. Julius Hemphill
  11. Unscientific Americans
  12. Cartoon
  13. Rag
  14. Tag

All compositions by Bill Frisell.

"Strange meetings of the mysterious and the earthy, the melancholy and the giddy, make perfect sense by Frisell's deliciously warped way of thinking. The warpage is catching on and not a moment too soon."
- Rolling Stone