Eyving Kang - violin, tuba
Ron Miles - trumpet, piccolo trumpet
Curtis Fowlkes - trombone
Bill Frisell - electric and acoustic guitars

produced by Lee Townsend

recording engineer: Oliver DiCicco
mixing engineer: Judy Clapp
mastering engineer: Greg Calbi

Nonesuch Records, 1996

Out of print, for the MP3 version go to nonesuch.com

Song List:

  1. Tales From the Far Side

  2. Twenty Years

  3. Stand Up, Sit Down

  4. Convict 13

  5. In Deep

  6. Egg Radio

  7. The Bacon Bunch

  8. Prelude

  9. Bob's Monsters

  10. The Gallows

  11. What?

  12. Dead Ranch

  13. Coffaro's Theme


"Quartet may be his masterpiece."
-The New York Times

"Quartet makes the most out of a variety of feelings. The composer has equal acumen in waxing forlorn and waxing frivolous...Frisell's instrument is one of contemporary jazz's utterly singular voices."-Billboard