Songs We Know

Bill Frisell - guitar
Fred Hersch - piano

produced by Lee Townsend

recording and mixing engineer: Christian Jones
mastering engineer: Greg Calbi

Nonesuch Records, 1998

Out of print, for the MP3 version go to nonesuch.com

Song List:

  1. It Might as Well Be Spring

  2. There Is No Greater Love

  3. Someday My Prince Will Come

  4. Softly as in a Morning Sunrise

  5. Blue Monk

  6. My One and Only Love

  7. My Little Suede Shoes

  8. Yesterdays

  9. I Got Rhythm

  10. Wave

  11. What Is This Thing Called Love?


"The delicate interplay ... between pianist Hersch and guitarist Frisell ... brings freshness and understated luster to it all."
Entertainment Weekly

"These guys are too distinctive to clone the past. Their romanticism is edged with a contemporary tartness, a tangy irony that infuses canny arrangements and biting solos. And so they remap and reinvigorate ... standards like "What is This Thing Called Love?" and "I Got Rhythm" in sly, appealing and often hilarious ways."
N.Y. Daily News